Grass & Angels …

Last week when I wondered where serenity went, I dropped my responsibilities, picked up my bike, trekked 10 miles south to the end of the East Bay Bike path in Bristol, RI,  and then laid down in thick grass facing up so I could stare at the lush green canopy of a grand old beech tree.  Ahhhhhhh!  And there it the midst of Mother Nature’s green scene I found it;  SERENITY – in nature – a to-be place minus chaos and demands! I function perfectly well as a human DOing … doing all the things I need to do as an employee, wife, mother, sister, friend, cousin, caretaker, mentor, artist, and all around multitasking woman. Unfortunately I do well thinking too much and getting so caught up in tasks and to-do lists that I forget to slow down and BREATHE – and remember to not only smell the roses – but acknowledge that I am a living thing related more to a rose than to a task list in a hurried life. 

A dear friend recently emailed me and wrote, “the Talmud teaches that over each and every blade of grass there is an angel whispering: “grow, grow, grow!”  That speaks  volumes to me!  My work week began the day after my bike trek and respite in the grass.  I felt unusually grounded and content all week with a quieted head.  I felt like I could think clearer and process more.  I had a more positive outlook.  And I was in flow – feeling a sense of spiritual synchronicity and guided progression to my days instead of forced speed  to shorten my list of responsibilities.  Perhaps the rooted grass I slept in last week did more than ground me.  Maybe some of those growth angels on the grass blades permeated my body, mind, and soul so that the grace of God guided my ways and days – instead of me driving my hamster-wheel head!  God does work in wondrous, mysterious ways!  

This weekend, laundry’s piled high again.  There’s enough white dust on the furniture that I could write essays on the surfaces with my finger.  My car which serves as a traveling office, could stand a good cleaning out!  But I AM more than what I do or what needs my attention.  These chores can wait until after dark on this glorious sunny Saturday.  Right NOW, the sky is stark blue – not a cloud in sight.  Seagulls are having a cry-a-thon across the street on the neighborhood beach.  Egrets and swans are feeding a short distance away in the cove.  Yards all around are chock-a-block full of blooms in every shape, color, texture and fragrance.  And bees and hummingbirds are feasting on them as they spread pollen to make more.   Yes, I am more than what I do or get done.  I am a living, breathing, BEing.  I am inexplicably connected to the natural wonders all around me which remind me to STOP!  … take in.   See.  Touch.  Listen.  Taste.  Smell.  Breathe in … and out, breathe in  … and out – rhythmically.  FEEL rest, peace and ease.  Welcome in serene being and alignment.  Take in another breath. Everything else can wait!

About Collectic

Hometown: Bangor, Maine; Alma Mater: UMO ~ Anthropology & Sociology Current path: Human Behavior Research @ Brown University; Passions: Jewelry Design, Writing, Photo Ops, Art, Born: February (Zodic ~ Pisces; Birthstone ~ Amethyst) Favorite Quotes: "To love another person is to see the face of God" ~ Victor Hugo; "I yam what I yam and that's all what I yam." ~ Popeye the Sailor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment